Listing sponsored by
Scientific Breakthrough. No Shots
Science response to skin aging.
Phone: 518 585 2821 --
Restored 1755 stone fort. Museum of Frech and Indian War and american Revolution.
Fort Ticonderoga is a restored 18th Century fort and world-class
museum. Built by the French in 1755, Fort Ticonderoga (Carillon)
played a critical strategic role in both the Seven Years’ War and the
American War for Independence. On these grounds occurred the greatest
French victory of the Seven Years’ War in America (the battle of
Carillon, 8 July 1758) and the first American victory of the American
Revolution, won by Benedict Arnold, Ethan Allen and the Green Mountain
Museum exhibits and educational programs focus on the 18th century military history of the Lake Champlain and Lake George region, the 19th century development of heritage tourism and the early 20th century restoration of the Fort.
Visitors to the Fort experience the sights and sounds of the 18th Century with breathtaking views of Lake Champlain, the Adirondacks and the Green Mountains as a backdrop. Costumed interpreters provide daily historic narrations and musket demonstrations. The Fife & Drum Corps performs music and artillery demonstrations daily in the months of July and August. Special programs include the Family Exploration Series (offered during the summer); the Grand Encampment of the French and Indian War (late June); Fife & Drum Corps Muster (early August); Revolutionary War Encampment (early September); Native American Harvest Moon Festival (mid-October). Visitors to the Fort in the fall enjoy spectacular foliage amid the breathtaking scenery of a magnificent and historic landscape.
In addition to the Fort and museum, visitors are invited to take a self-guided walking Tour of the Historic Gardens at Fort Ticonderoga. They include the King’s Garden, a 1920’s walled ornamental garden designed by Marian Cruger Coffin (pioneering woman landscape architect); the Garrison Garden, an example of an 18th century military garden; and the Native American Garden, and example of the Native method of planting corn, beans, and squash known as the “Three Sisters.”
The Fort also offers picnic grounds, the Museum Store and the Log House Restaurant.
The Fort’s museum contains over 30,000 objects from the Native American period through the restoration of the Fort in 1908. The Thompson-Pell Research Center houses the Fort’s research library which contains over 13,000 rare books and manuscripts.
World-renowned collections of muskets, powderhorns and artifacts are on display documenting the experience of the soldiers and Native American peoples who lived and fought here. Artifacts and works of art tell the story of more than 2000 years of human interaction on this land.
Major Research Fields:
18th century military history; 19th century travel and tourism.
Open early May through late October.
Open seven days a week including holidays.
Hours of Operation – 9:00am-5:00pm.
$12/adults, $10.80/seniors & students, $6/children from 7-12, Free
admission for children under 7
From Albany and Montreal: Take I-87 (the Adirondack Northway) to Exit
28 and follow Route 74 east for 18 miles. From Vermont: Take
the Shoreham Ferry or from the Bridge at Crown Point, follow Route 22 south
to Route 74. Amtrak’s Adirondack Express stops at the Fort
daily. Station one mile from the Fort.